Tennessee to regulate state move over law

November 26, 20230

The Tennessee Department of Transportation (TDOT) has partnered with the State Highway Patrol to increase enforcement of the move over law.

The law was passed in 2006 and requires drivers to move into an adjacent lane when it is safe to do so or slow down when approaching emergency vehicles on the side of the road.

According to a TDOT press release, 33 HELP trucks were damaged while responding to incidents in 2023, with five of those accidents occurring in November. On Nov. 17, officers from the Tennessee Highway Patrol, Chattanooga Police Department and Hamilton County Sheriff’s Office worked a total of 84 hours, stopped 77 vehicles, issued 15 warnings and wrote nine citations for violating the state’s moving over law.

“State law requires drivers to move over and slow down for emergency vehicles,” said Lt. Governor and TDOT Commissioner Butch Ely. “By working together with our outstanding law enforcement partners, we can help change driver behavior and make it safer for everyone on the road. Rescuers cannot do their jobs if their lives are at risk.”

The penalty for violating the Tennessee Moving Law is a maximum fine of up to $500 and up to 30 days in jail.


Related Articles